Kazmantra's Blog


New Comic: Blood Magic
March 2, 2011, 6:18 pm
Filed under: Comics, News

Way back in 2009 when I had just started as an artist in residence at the V&A, looking at all the medieval imagery, an idea formed in my mind around the idea of blood being the source of power, magical power, spiritual power, whatever you like. It seemed to me that blood was one of the most primal sources of power, the most striking, and the most intimate. The bones of a story began to take shape. But the themes were so heavy – sacrifice, power, blood, males and females, the Pagan and the Christian… and then there was the difficulty telling the tale, with such themes, I hardly wanted messages I hadn’t intended slipping into the story. Gwen and Angela alternately or together had the pleasure or otherwise of listening to me ramble on about the story of “Blood Magic” and how to make it say what I wanted it to say. Eventually, after much procrastination and debating with myself, this comic came to fruition…. almost exactly one year after the ending of my residency. It came back from the printers on Monday, smelling of ink and with a lovely old-fashioned texture. Whether or not I achieved my goals with the story and storytelling… well, that’s for the reader to decide.

So, here it is: Blood Magic.

Blood Magic Comics

Blood Magic Comics

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

*droool* This excites me. How long must I wait to obtain one? 🙂

Comment by sephryn




Leave a Reply

