Kazmantra's Blog


MCM Expo!
May 31, 2011, 10:28 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

MCM Expo was so intense and tiring this year I spent most of the bank holiday sleeping. Now I am awake, so I can write my report. ^_^

I decided to do my merchandise shopping on the Friday, while there were no crowds, and managed to pick up the final volume of FullMetal Alchemist before it’s official release date. I have become rather addicted to this series. I also had a great chat with Emma Vieceli, Morag Lewis and the legendary Pat Mills about girls’ comics. I was also chided by Emma for using the word “wanky” in front of Pat, although I felt it to be fairly descriptive in the circumstances.

On Saturday, I decided to bite the bullet and cosplay for the first time. As much as I love dressing up in peculiar outfits, and who doesn’t, let’s face it, I had never actually done the cosplay thing. I always wanted to but was too chicken. So, because I was in danger of going through the whole of my life never trying it at least once, I dressed up as FullMetalAlchemist’s Lust. I found a few other characters from the series and did a little posing for photos for each other, but mainly I was behind the desk at the ITCH stall, helping Willie sell lots of ITCH publications, including the new Leek and Sushi Waves, which features a new story by me. I also did quite a few Urban Beasts sketches for con-goers, portraits of them as their favourite (or totem) animal.

Urban Beast Sketch : FoxDeer with Trippy Tree AntlersZebraGiraffeAxolotl

On the next table to us was Nattherat and her amazing Those of No Class comic. Having been serialised on the web, I’d already read it, but the screen doesn’t do justice to the amazing painted artwork in the same way as the printed book. This was one of only a few comics I bought, as on the Sunday I made the rounds of Comics Village armed with copies of Blood Magic to see if I could entice anyone to swap with me. The response was huge, and I have an amazing haul of comics to read now, as well as cookies, a scone, postcards, a ring, a mirror…. do we really need money at all? One of the comics I swapped for was The Faucon by Bex (Rebecca Burgess) of Sweatdrop. This, oddly enough, was also medieval themed, with blackletter fonts and gold-illumined cover. Although only short, it was very moving. Bex’s artwork continues to improve and is full of life and energy. Lovely!

After Expo was over, a trip to the pub was in order, where I got to hang out with comics friends old and new and overhear bits of gossip that I really did not want to know and will not be going any further!

All in all, a really fun Expo!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

